Home Members Opportunities Events News About Us Sponsorship Contact us


Film, Recording and Entertainment Council, INC.

305-940-7847 Fax



News and Updates

The South Florida Entertainment Industry Honors Its Own at the FREC Star Gala
November 12, 2007

The South Florida Entertainment Industry Honors Its Own at the FREC Star Gala

Miami, FL - Nearly 300 Entertainment Industry Professionals came together to enjoy a spectacular evening celebrating the individuals and organizations who lead the way in 2007. With its Annual Star Gala, the Film, Recording and Entertainment Council celebrated both the long history of commitment its members have had to this region, as well as the quality of professionals and talent who are locally based.


The black-tie Gala which was held Saturday, November 10, 2007, at James L. Knight Center was a glittering gathering of media people from all over the area. Hosting the festivities was Judge Alex, a former police officer, attorney, Florida Circuit Court Judge, news commentator, television personality, and hosts of "Judge Alex," the court room strip from Twentieth Television. After a warm welcome by Miguel Bravo, President of the Film, Recording and Entertainment Council, the evening began with presentations of the FREC Awards, presented by FREC to honor those companies and individuals that its members have nominated.  The committee judges selected individuals and companies as exemplifying outstanding achievements in the entertainment industry while having a positive impact in the community.


The evening featured some touching moments and great fun: Sally Kellerman introducing her husband, "legendary veteran producer and visionary" Jonathan D. Krane, and presented the FREC Lifetime Achievement Award; Miguel D. Bravo honoring Mr. Krane, referring to him as "South Florida's role model."


FREC Award honorees are nominated by their peers and evaluated against comprehensive criteria that include service to the local industry and to the greater community. 2007 honorees were:


Ivelyn Giro                                          
Sherry Faith
Andrea Mantell-Seidel
Evelina Diaz
Mario Ernesto Sanchez
Richard C. Wolfe
Monica Glaysher
Delray Beach Film Festival
Miami International University
/ Art & Design
PoBros. Inc c/o Miguel Portilla
Carol Raskin
Alaskan Star Interactive
Rey Gutierrez
Dominque Vouk
Joyce Kaufman
Miguel D. Bravo
Morphoto Inc.                                     

If you couldn't make it out to this year's Star Gala, you missed out on the biggest night for the Entertainment Industry in South Florida.  It's a good thing this event continues to get better with every passing year.  Be sure to keep your eyes peeled for information for the next Star Gala and FREC Awards to be held next year.